RSS Feed

Upward and Onward

From Katherine Cerulean, founder:

Hi kids,

I just wanted to take a moment to celebrate the past and look forward to the future.  2014 has been a crazy (and busy) year for a lot of us in the AWA and often those adventures pulled us away from the group as a whole but even as exciting new projects and journeys appear on the horizon, I feel the AWA growing bigger and more close-knit than ever before.

We had some wonderful events this year — our first contact with a Georgia Hall of Fame writer (thank you Philip Lee Williams!), our first show at Cine in downtown Athens, our second book collection (edited by the talented [and patient] Jennifer Innes), participated in a poetry reading at Founders Memorial Garden at UGA, and have had many great classes, workshops, and meetings.  We’ve met new friends and discovered beautiful new things about the established ones.  I feel lucky every day for every one of you that have come into my life.

Found on anauthenticlife.tumblr.com

Found on anauthenticlife.tumblr.com

So where does the future lie?  As ever, hidden by mists and clouds, beyond the horizon but before us, along unused trails that your feet somehow already know and your heart sings as you travel down.  In the next month, we’ll be getting together to see what new, exciting places YOU want the AWA to go in 2015, but for me I just want more — more great experiences with you all, more opportunities to read your undeniable great words, and more chances to teach and be taught.  Because at the end of the day, I want us to become so great, our work so polished, and our ideas so exciting that we become a beckon of what a group of writers can do when brought together by fellowship and yes, by love.

And on that note, I leave you with the reason I wrote this whole post, my Christmas gift to you.  I want to share with you the song (that I’ve never told any of you about) but I consider my anthem for the AWA, a song that I’ve listened to coming to and going from many events with you guys, official and unofficial.  I tried to make a video collage and it went hilariously wrong, but that’s probably for the best, because I couldn’t show (or list here) all of you, and you all are part of this adventure.

You truly start the spark in my bonfire heart.

 

About katherinecerulean

Novelist, founder of The Athens Writers Association, and enthusiast of all things awesome and magical. Need my help with ANYTHING? Just ask!

2 responses »

  1. Ah, very nice! Thank you Katherine, and all who keep this group going. I was proud to be part of Journey Home and look forward to meeting more members soon. The events I did attend: Phillip Lee Williams and Creating the World of your story- were fantastic! BTW I found PLW’s bk, “The Heart of a Distant Forest” at Jackson St Bks, and can loan out my copy if anyone’s interested. It had gone out of print, which I alerted him to and hopefully is being reprinted.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

